November 6, 2003


4-year terms for Alexander, Hardman

Though the three candidates running for Village Council — incumbents Mary J. Alexander and George Pitstick and local resident Jocelyn Hardman — were guaranteed seats on Council, Tuesday’s election still had consequences as the candidates were vying for two- and four-year terms.

Unofficial results from the Greene County Board of Elections show that Alexander and Hardman earned the most votes in the races, giving them both four-year terms on Council. Pitstick finished in third place, giving him a two-year term.

Alexander received the most votes, 963, or nearly 36 percent of the votes cast. Hardman received 884 votes, or almost 33 percent, and 833 votes, or 31 percent, were cast for Pitstick.

Alexander was appointed in April to serve out the remaining term of Hazel Latson, who resigned from Council earlier last spring when she moved out of Yellow Springs. This is her first elected term on Council. Hardman, a program administrator at Antioch University McGregor who ran unsuccessfully for Council in 2001, also was elected to her first term on the board. Pitstick, who served on Council for a number of years in the 1980s, won his second consecutive term on Council.

At Council’s next meeting, Nov. 17, the three candidates will take their seats on Council, with Tony Arnett, the Council president, and Denise Swinger.

Two other races on the ballot were less competitive. Running unopposed, Yellow Springs Mayor David Foubert won his seventh term in office with 1,141 votes. The mayor, who serves a two-year term, is the official head of the Village for ceremonial purposes and presides over Mayor’s Court.

In the school board race, incumbent Rich Bullock and villager Richard Lapedes were elected to four-year terms, joining Mary Campbell-Zopf, William Firestone and Angela Wright on the board.

Bullock, who received 1,066 votes, was elected to his second term. Lapedes, who received 1,057 votes, was elected to his first term on the board, which he will join in January.

—Robert Mihalek